Category Archives: Travel

Kenya Safaris – This weeks Virtual Vacation

Within the borders of a single country, you will find savannahs rich with big game, timeless cultures unchanged by the modern world, pristine beaches and coral reef, equatorial forests and mighty snow-capped mountains, searing deserts and cool highland retreats and endless opportunities for adventure, discovery, relaxation; more than you would ever expect.  This country is Kenya..

Join us on Thursday May 28

pexels-photo-730537

Photo by Gary Whyte on Pexels.com

KENYA is the birthplace of the safari experience and the movie “Out of Africa” can lay claim to triggering North America’s interest in East Africa safaris. We are also drawn to the Great Migration of wildebeest seen on National Geographic documentaries with cunning carnivores in hot pursuit.

You have 3 options this Thursday, May 28 to hear more about travel to Kenya – click on the links below to register.  You will be asked for your Travel Advisors Name (Sue Adams) and Agency (GetAway Travel LLC) when registering.

Session 1 

10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET 

Session 2

12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET

Session 3

2pm PT, 3pm MT, 4pm CT, 5pm ET

We hope you join us!

Virtual Visit – This week – South Africa

South Africa is an incredible destination in so many ways – it is the kind of destination that will touch all of your senses in a myriad of ways, and once all is said and done you probably won’t be the same again. The incredible diversity is a key attraction – from the deserts of the Kgalagadi to the lush green forests of Tsitsikamma to the unspoiled beaches of the Wild Coast to the vibrant nightlife of Cape Town – South Africa really does have it all.

elephant-herd-of-elephants-african-bush-elephant-africa-59989

 

You have 3 options this Thursday, May 21 to hear more about travel to South Africa – click on the links below to register.  You will be asked for your Travel Advisors Name (Sue Adams) and Agency (GetAway Travel LLC) when registering.

Session 1  – 10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET

Session 2 – 12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET

Session 3 – 2pm PT, 3pm MT, 4pm CT, 5pm ET

South Africa truly is a ground-breaking destination for explorers and adventurers who want to experience life in all its fullness. South Africa is a destination that allows you to scratch below the surface and experience endless possibilities, and to walk away the richer for having been here.

South Pacific Virtual Vacation

The South Pacific is incredibly vast and blue, covering 11 million square miles stretching from the top of Australia to the Hawaiian Islands. Celebrated by artists and writers, from Paul Gauguin to James Michener, these thousands of tiny coral and volcanic-stone dots are home to fascinating peoples and cultures.

Continue reading

Join our Virtual Vacation to New Zealand

When you want to get away, there is nothing worse than being grounded, let alone sequestered for health reasons. Yet according to Nobel-winning psychologist Daniel Kahneman: we travel with our minds, not our bodies.

In response to this theory, we are asking YOU to use your minds to escape this lockdown. Join us every Thursday in May by registering to attend our adventures below. Anticipating your escape can be just as powerful as visiting, and we have planned some fun and informative escapes to New Zealand, Tahiti, Fiji, South Africa and Kenya.

As they say, “the fun is in the planning, so join us and let the fun begin!”

Up first is New Zealand – Thursday May 7

03-Cape Palliser New Zealand 2-9-2011 12-11-26 PM

 

 

New Zealand is made up of some of the worlds most spectacular landscapes, from vast mountain ranges, steaming volcanoes to sweeping coastlines. It is a natural playground for thrill seekers and adventurers and those who simply want to visit for the culture and landscapes. New Zealand was one of the last countries in the world to be found and are invited to explore its many wonders. Thank you for join our journey to Aotearoa – Maori for the Land of the Long White Cloud!

 

3 Sessions Available

SESSION 1

10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET

SESSION 2

12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT 3pm ET

SESSION 3

 

2pm PT, 3pm MT, 4pm CT, 5pm ET

GetAway Travel - you renewed

Virtual Visit Week Thursday – let’s go Down Under to Sydney Australia

One inescapable fact is Sydney is an ocean front city.  The Harbour is everywhere with 4 of the 5 central districts on the water.  The Greater Sydney area has many pristine miles of coast line.  Did you know there are well over 100 beaches in Sydney?  Sydney also enjoys over 300 sunny days each year.   Sydney has it all – beach lifestyle, culture, food and wine, and history.  

Speaking of history – Indigenous Australians have inhabited the area for over 30,000 years and thousands of engravings remain throughout this region, making it one of the richest for aboriginal archaeological sites in Australia.

In 1770, James Cook and his crew became the first Europeans to visit the area.  It didn’t take long for more people to arrive when in 1788 the First Fleet arrived to found a penal colony here.  British convicts were originally transported to the 13 colonies in North America, but after the American War of Independence ended in 1783, the newly formed United States refused to accept further convicts.   Between 1788 and 1868, roughly 162,000 convicts were transported from Britain and Ireland to various penal colonies in Australia.   Most were transported for petty crimes with sentences ranging from 7 years to life.  If well behaved, freedom was granted at the end of your sentence however very few had the means to return to Britain and therefore became settlers.

Enough of the history lesson though – let’s get back to modern Sydney.  It’s easy to get around with 5 fantastic neighborhoods in the Central district

Continue reading

Virtual Visit Week – Wednesday – One of the most famous Tourist sites in the World

Today we stay in Europe, leaving Amsterdam and her enchanting canals we head to the equally enchanting city of Paris.  However no art museums on this visit as we are here to see the Eiffel tower.

An iconic symbol of Paris and one of the most famous landmarks in the world the tower was built by Alexandre Gustave Eiffel in 1887-1889.  Gustave was born 15 December, 1932 in Côte-d’Or, France (which is a limestone escarpment – the east facing slope being home to some of the greatest wines of Burgundy!)

After graduating engineering college, Eiffel got first big project to manage and install a railway bridge over the Garonne river at Bordeaux.  The work successfully completed on schedule and afterwards he set himself up as an independent consulting engineer.  He was involved in many metal work projects including: the Budapest rail station, a bridge over the river Douro in Portugal, the Exposition Universelle building in Paris and the Garabit Viaduct (a railway arch bridge in central France).  

In 1881 Eiffel was approached by French sculptor August Bartholdi who needed an engineer to help him finish the Statue of Liberty.  The entire statue was erected at the Eiffel works in Paris before being dismantled and shipped to the United States. 

Continue reading

Virtual Visit Week – Tuesday is for Amsterdam

We hope you enjoyed our day at the Uffizi in Florence, but it’s now time to move on.  We’re going to head about 860 miles (1380 kilometers) northwest to the Dutch capital city of Amsterdam.  Amsterdam is known for its extensive canals, impressive architecture and more than 1500 bridges.   In Amsterdam, we’re going to stop at 2 iconic locations – the Rijksmuseum and Anne Frank House.  

A UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Canal District was dug in the 17th century to attract wealthy home owners and is still quite a posh neighborhood.  Amsterdam prospered during this time and became one of the world’s great cities.  A global trading network and overseas possessions made it the center of shipping in Europe and the worlds leading financial center.

Our first stop in Amsterdam is the Rijksmuseum – the national museum of The Netherlands.

Continue reading

Your Invited Down Under – Thursday April 23

It’s been a difficult time for everyone, trapped at home, concerned and unable to escape. A few of my Travel Adviser mates are hosting a virtual Australia information day and we’d love you to join us. You will escape your current confinement on a fabulous pictorial journey to the land Down Under.

On Thursday, April 23 we have lined up expat-Aussie, Jeff Adam to guide us through the best of Australia. There are 4 sessions as follows:

Session 1 – 11am PT, 12pm MT, 1pm CT, 2pm ET

Session 2 – 12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET

Session 3 – 1pm PT, 2pm MT, 3pm CT, 4pm ET

Session 4 – 2pm PT, 3pm MT, 4pm CT, 5pm ET

For more details on the giveaways, prizes and to register http://campaign.r20.constantcontact.com/render?m=1112006432410&ca=e2b8df2a-d6c3-4369-bbd5-249a1d9b4af8

Jeff’s got a bit of a funny accent so all attendees will get a “How to Speak Aussie” dictionary, along with an Australia Map and Travel Planner. It will be balance of great information and good Aussie humor.

Virtual Visit Week – If it’s Monday let’s go to the Uffizi

While we are not travelling right now, it’s a great time for some virtual visits.

The Galleria degli Uffizi is a prominent art museum located in the historic center of Florence, Italy.  It is one of the largest, best known, most important and most visited Italian museums.  It holds a priceless collection of art, particularly from the period of the Italian Renaissance.  

Fifteenth century Italy was unlike any place in Europe – divided between independent city-states each with a different form of government.  Florence where the Italian Renaissance began was an independent republic.  It was also a banking/commercial capital and the 3rd largest city in Europe after London and Constantinople (or do you say Istanbul?).  Wealthy Florentines flaunted their money and power by becoming patrons of the arts. 

I went to a restaurant that serves ‘breakfast at any time’. So I ordered French Toast during the Renaissance. – Steven Wright

Continue reading

Travel Inspired Drinks To Mix Up At Home

Looking for a drink that will have you dreaming of cool European cities, warm weather destinations, or domestic metropolises? Check out some of our suggestions below and start sipping your way into vacation.   

Pimm’s Cup

We love to visit England.  This British cocktail can be found on menus at trendy bars and restaurants, and you can find the mix at most liquor stores. Try out this recipe below for a cool summertime sipper. 

Pimm’s No.1 (gin-based mix) 1.5 cups
Sprite/ginger ale 1.5 cups 
1 cucumber sliced 
2 cups strawberries muddled
1 Lemon sliced
1 cup mint leaves muddled 
3 cups ice 

Mix together in pitcher serve over ice 

Mai Tai

This is one of those drinks, that if you had it on vacation, every time you have one at home it will bring you right back to paradise. Its debated origin comes from an LA bar owner, who claimed to have made the drink for his Tahitian friend who was in town visiting. After trying the drink, the friend yelled out “very good” in Tahitian, which translates to Mai Tai. There are currently 11 ways to make a Mai Tai, check out this recipe below.   Oh – and if you are dreaming of Tahiti, you should probably check our Tahiti cruise group that’s been rescheduled for 2021

1.5 ounces spiced rum 
1.5 ounces coconut rum 
1 tsp grenadine 
3 ounces pineapple juice
 2 ounces orange juice 
1 cup of ice 

Combine all ingredients in cocktail shaker, serve over ice 

Piña Colada

Pina Colada is Spanish for strained pineapple and has been the National drink of Puerto Rico since 1978. Two rival bars in San Juan claim to have made the cocktail, the Caribe Hilton Hotel Beachcomber bar in 1954 and Barrachina Restaurant in 1963. Until you can try the two for yourself, make one at home today! 

2 ounces coconut cream
2 ounces pineapple juice 
1.5 ounces light rum
 .5 ounces dark rum 
1 piece fresh pineapple
2 cups of ice 

Mix all liquid ingredients together, serve over ice, and garnish with pineapple slice. 

Caipirinha

This Brazilian cocktail is made with Cachaca, which is Brazil’s most commonly distilled alcoholic beverage, just above rum. It was invented in 1918 in Sao Paulo and was given to Spanish Flu patients medicinally. Although we can’t speak to its actual medical powers, you can try it out at home today! 

.5 lime quartered
2.5 fluid ounces of Cachaca
1 tsp white sugar 
1 cup ice cubes 

Muddle limes and sugar in the bottom of a cup, serve cachaca over ice. 

Paloma

If you are a fan of a classic margarita, the Paloma is a great option to mix it up. It can be made with silver tequila and grapefruit soda, or grapefruit juice and club soda with lime. It is a fresh take on one of Mexico’s most classic drinks. 

1 grapefruit wedge 
1/4 cup grapefruit juice
1 tbs. fresh lime juice 
1 tsp. Sugar 
1/4 cup tequila 
1/4 cup club soda  

Kir Royal

This fancy cocktail will make you feel like you are sipping your bubbly at Versailles even if you are just in your living room. And although this drink will make you feel all done up, it is simple to make. A Kir Royal is champagne, and a liqueur called creme de cassis. To make, simply fill your champagne glass 2/3 full of creme de cassis and top with champagne.